Always on My Mind

Where can I go from Your Spirit?
Or where can I flee from Your presence? -Psalm 139:7

The sermon Sunday was titled, “The Habit of Meditation,” and the key scripture verses were Psalm 1:1-2 and Philippians 4:8. I thought of other verses with a similar theme, but what does it mean to meditate? I searched for the word in an online dictionary and found this:

A: To engage in focused thought on scriptural passages or on doctrines or mysteries of religion, especially Christianity.

B. To engage in devotional contemplation, especially prayer.

So, here are several verses that speak of meditating on God and his word.

Psalm 1:1-3 (I added verse 3 to show what results from meditating on God’s word): “How blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked, nor stand in the path of sinners, nor sit in the seat of scoffers! But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and in His law he mediates day and night. And he will be like a tree firmly planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in its season, and its leaf does not whither; and in whatever he does he prospers.”

Joshua 1:8: “This book of the law shall not depart from your mouth, but you shall meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it; for then you will make your way prosperous, and then you will have success.”

In these two verses, we’re given specific benefits from mediating on God’s word. God wants us to prosper, to have success, and to produce fruit, and he shows us the way.

If the goal of mediation is to produce fruit, what is the role of mediation?

Philippians 4:8: “Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, let your mind dwell on these things.”

In addition to the Philippians verse above, add to it these words from Isaiah 55:8-9: “‘For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways,’ declares the Lord. ‘For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts higher than your thoughts.’”

The role of meditating on God’s word is to focus us on him and his ways, ways that are contrary to our nature. For we won’t find whatever is lovely and pure and right and honorable by focusing on ourselves, or on the things of this world. These excellent things are found in God. And by focusing on God, we are changed.

But how does focusing on these things change us, and what does God desire for us to become? I recall a scene in the movie Jaws, where Chief Brodie and his youngest son are sitting across from one another at the kitchen table, just the two of them. When Brodie rests his chin on his hand, so does the boy. When he picks up his glass and takes a drink, so does the boy. When he interlaces his fingers, deep in thought, so does the little boy. When he makes a monster face, so does his son. Brodie’s son imitates everything his father does. God wants us to imitate him, “to become conformed to the image of His Son,” Jesus. (Romans 8:29)

The last book I wrote is titled, “Pondering God,” with ponder being a synonym for meditate. Do you ponder God? How often do you dwell on him and his word?  When do you meditate on his mysteries? How much time does God expect us to devote to thinking of him? Is meditating on God’s word, a once-a-day event?

From Deuteronomy 6:5-9: “And you shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might. And these words, which I am commanding you today, shall be on your heart; and you shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up.”

In the morning and at night? Really? Walking along the way? Loving him with all my heart? Does God really expect this much attention? After all, I’m busy. I must work. And I have family obligations. What does it look like to meditate on God, day and night? What does God expect from us?

Early in my walk with Jesus, I consumed God’s word and thought of him on Sundays, and then on Wednesday night at our mid-week gathering. But as I grew in my faith, I began to read his word daily. And then I found I was reading his word off cycle, in preparation for studies and writings. And when I invited God into all areas of my life, work, play, marriage, I found that I thought of him often. I now think of God when I’m on my daily walks. While driving in my car. I think of his word when I watch television, when I’m home alone, while reading a book, when I wake up and before I go to sleep. Many of my daily prayers include scripture verses.

When I read headlines like this:

Former Speaker Nancy Pelosi’s Stock Trades Earned A 65% Return in ’23 Sparking Moves To Ban Lawmakers From Trading

I think of scriptures like this:

“Differing weights are an abomination to the Lord, and a false scale is not good.”                       – Proverbs 20:23

When I see a sparrow in a field next to the road and watch it fly away with a worm dangling from its mouth, I think of Jesus’ words in Matthew 6:26, “Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor do they reap, nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth more than them?”

When I receive an unexpected property tax rebate in the mail, I give him thanks. When things go well at work, I thank God for being alongside me all the way. When my marriage improves, I give God all the credit. When someone gives me feedback about something I’ve written, I thank God.

Do you recall what it was like when you first went steady with someone? I do. I was sixteen at the time. I thought of her when I awoke in the morning. I thought of her while lying on my bed at night, trying to fall asleep. I looked forward to each weekday morning, knowing I would be walking her to school or picking her up in my car and driving her there. I looked for her in the hallway between classes, where we often passed notes to each other. I paced the house every evening, waiting for the phone to ring, even though I had just spent time with her two hours earlier. All my favorite songs reminded me of her. I could hardly wait for the weekend and our Saturday night dates. Other interests and activities took a backseat to this relationship. I wanted to be with her always, and I just couldn’t get her off my mind.

I’m beginning to understand what God requires of me and you. The truth is, God desires our full attention. He desires our endless adoration. He desires to be always on our mind. And if he is, you will become more like him. And as James wrote, you will “prove yourselves doers of the word, and not merely hearers who delude themselves.” (James 1:22)

The truth is, God’s presence is everywhere, as the Psalmist noted above. How can you miss him?

If you enjoyed this piece, you might also enjoy my book, Pondering God.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.